Review: The Lego Movie (2014)

The Lego Movie (dir. Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, 2014) – An ordinary LEGO mini-figure, mistakenly thought to be the extraordinary MasterBuilder, is recruited to join a quest to stop an evil LEGO tyrant from gluing the universe together.

Verdict

Perhaps not everything is awesome, but what The Lego Movie lacks, it bricks up with great fun.

3/5

Review

We all go a little mad sometimes. Who knew, that one day we will all gladly sit through a full-length feature of a young child’s play time. Sometimes, it’s wondrous and imaginative. More often than not, it’s wild and mad.

With so much going on, things get chaotic at times and cost the film some of its coherence. Jokes stemming from multiple franchises seem to be a mixed bag of hits-or-misses, and much of the humour will appeal more to the slapstick crowd. Before you fans start wishing that I step on Legos, let me finish. That very insanity did play to its weakness as much as it did its strength.

The Lego Movie
Photo: Warner Brothers

On the bright and colourful side, just about anything seems possible when you have that wide assortment of Lego sets right in your playpen. In fact, The Lego Movie has managed to put together Justice League before DC has. All kidding aside, how often do films get such a fantastic universe in which this many pop culture icons can all exist in?

Batman, Abraham Lincoln, Michelangelo (the turtle), Michelangelo (the painter) and more. A motley crew of minifigures is what brings so much fun to the simple plot, based on a bland Accidental Hero trope. Just watching out for the cameos will put a smile on your face. The amazing voice cast, especially Will Arnett as Batman, livens it up. All while the CG animation impresses with real Lego likeness.

The Lego Movie
Photo: Warner Brothers

Self-aware parodies of beloved characters from comic-books carry a hint of nostalgia, as much as the yellow mini-figures themselves do. This relatable element is not the only stretch to the real world. The narrative cleverly reveals itself brick by brick to be a layered reflection of our reality that pits corporate conformity against creativity. Thanks, master builders Phil Lord and Christopher Miller!

Thanks to the The Lego Movie, toy-based movies have gained an antithesis to the disappointing Battleship(wreck) from Hasbro. Every minute is a reminder of how our childhood playtime used to be – many a times senseless but nonetheless fun, amusing entertainment.

With nostalgic charm and general geekdom solidarity coming into play, it is easy to see past the flaws. Moreover, what can go wrong when you have the Batman taking most of the ribbing?

And in case you’re wondering if I myself am a Lego fan:

“The camera! Where is it?!”
3 thoughts on “Review: The Lego Movie (2014)

  1. Hey Jade, I would never wish you to step on Legos. I’ve done it, and it hurts. And sometimes you can break the bricks!

    I’m a little disappointed to see your 3/5 rating but I get what you’re saying. I haven’t seen this yet, but when mixing multiple franchises together for jokes, so many often fall flat. So I will go into this not expecting too much.

    Now I’ll go back and read your Catching Fire review, since I just watched that yesterday!

    Like

    1. Many of my friends had called me an utter killjoy for saying that it isn’t as funny as I had expected. So, I suppose mine’s a minority opinion and you might find yourself enjoying it a little more than I did!

      And thanks Mike, mostly for not wishing that upon me. But I’ve unfortunately already stepped on my Legos when I was taking that picture above. 😛

      Like

Leave a comment

